The Hall

Brynkinalt Hall is a Grade II* listed building. The central portion of the present house was completed by Sir Edward Trevor in 1612. The building, which was three-storeys high, was constructed from brick, which was cut on site. The impressive Great Hall was once an open courtyard, which the coaches entered via an arch where the staircase is now situated. The original Jacobean Oak panelled Hall still remains, giving a glimpse into the original house.

Extensive remodelling was carried out in 1808 to the design of Charlotte, Viscountess Dungannon, whose taste embellished the surrounding grounds and park. Charlotte added two extensive wings to the house, which include the large Dining and Drawing rooms, each with their own Ante Rooms, two small morning rooms known as the Boudoirs, and a conservatory which boasts stunning views of the Ceiriog Valley.

Some of the features of her designs are recorded in a historic book of drawings, plans and sketches, which offers a fascinating insight into the thoughts and ideas that led to the final designs. Charlotte also added many Gothic touches to the house, such as castellations and turrets. She also built a number of gate lodges, follies and a double walled garden.